The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Famished Road - A Novel - cover

The Famished Road - A Novel

Ben Okri

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 1
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

Winner of the Man Booker Prize: “Okri shares with García Márquez a vision of the world as one of infinite possibility. . . . A masterpiece” (The Boston Sunday Globe). Azaro is a spirit child, an abiku, existing, according to the African tradition, between life and death. Born into the human world, he must experience its joys and tragedies. His spirit companions come to him often, hounding him to leave his mortal world and join them in their idyllic one. Azaro foresees a trying life ahead, but he is born smiling. This is his story.   When President Bill Clinton first went to Africa he quoted from The Famished Road, which has inspired literature, art, politics, and pop songs—and even been referenced in an episode of The Simpsons. A transformative story for all ages and all times, it means many things to many people. Few contemporary novels have aroused as much passion as this one. Indeed, twenty-five years after its breakout publication, the iconic story of Azaro’s travels continues to mesmerize new generations.   For readers of Things Fall Apart or One Hundred Years of Solitude, this Man Booker Prize–winning blend of fabulism and gritty realism by the Nigerian author of Astonishing the Gods and Dangerous Love is a “dazzling, hypnotic” journey through Africa that “weaves the humblest detail with the most extravagant flight of fancy to create an astonishing fictional tapestry” (San Francisco Chronicle). Already considered a classic of world literature, it is “a masterpiece if ever one existed” (The Boston Sunday Globe).  

Other books that might interest you

  • Little Women - cover

    Little Women

    Louisa May Alcott

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Follow the lives of four sisters as they pass from childhood to womanhood in this American classic.
    Show book
  • The Rockery - cover

    The Rockery

    E. G. Swain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Edmund Gill Swain (1861-1938) was an English cleric and author of ghost stories. He was a longtime friend of M. R. James, and his ghost stories show James' influence.In this story the vicar of Stoneground, Mr. Batchel, is having the rockery at his vicarage dug up. He and the gardener discover an old yew stake buried in the rockery on which is nailed a copper plaque bearing the inscription: 'Move Not This Stake, Nov. 1. 1702'.As Mr. Batchel is keen to use the stake to support the wobbly garden pump, they go ahead and dig up the stake, at the base of which they discover an old iron chain. In doing so, Mr. Batchel has unwittingly unleashed something very evil into the neighbourhood....
    Show book
  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes - cover

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

    Arthur Conan Doyle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Join the immortal Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson as they solve some of their most famous cases. "The Red-Headed League," "The Speckled Band," "A Scandal in Bohemia" and other of their most famous adventures adorn this sparkling collection. Brought to life by award-winning narrator B.J. Harrison, each of Doyle's characters is brought to life with respect and precision. This is a Holmes collection to be treasured for years.Includes: "A Scandal in Bohemia," "The Red-Headed League," "A Case of Identity," "A Boscombe Valley Mystery," "The Five Orange Pips," "The Man with the Twisted Lip," "The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle," "The Adventure of the Speckled Band," "The Adventure of the Engineer’s Thumb," "The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor," "The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet," "The Adventure of the Copper Beeches."
    Show book
  • Madman's Manuscript A - cover

    Madman's Manuscript A

    Charles Dickens

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Charles Dickens' disturbing story detailing the memoirs of a deranged psychopath.
    Show book
  • Two on a Tower - cover

    Two on a Tower

    Thomas Hardy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Written in 1882, and set in the author's beloved West Country, Two on a Tower is one of Hardy's earliest works. This fast moving story combines tragedy, romance and humour in a convoluted tale of human relationships. It also reflects Hardy's interest in the stars and astronomy.  
    Lonely Viviette Constantine awaits the return of her husband from a hunting expedition to Africa. She becomes involved with a young astronomer, Swithin St. Cleeve, who observes the night sky from a disused tower on her estate. Despite their differing ages and social backgrounds they soon find their destinies linked - but with fateful consequences
    Show book
  • Young Goodman Brown - cover

    Young Goodman Brown

    Nathaniel Hawthorne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    How long would you walk, if the Devil sauntered up to you of an evening, and journeyed alongside of you? Young Goodman Brown is led by the Devil to a midnight ritual, where fire, blood, and water change his opinions of the nature of humanity
    Show book