Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Night Call - cover

Night Call

Brenden Carlson

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A sci-fi thriller/mystery for readers of Jonathan Lethem, Richard Morgan, and Isaac Asimov, set in an alternate version of 1930s Manhattan
New York is a double-decker city, where the rich live high above the Lower City on the ground, and semi-autonomous machines, which think and act almost like humans, are considered second-class citizens
The "night call" of the title refers to an off-the-book murder case handed to Elias Roche, a former cop, who solves sensitive mysteries law enforcement doesn't want to touch
Author is an exciting, fresh new voice in sci-fi mystery

Other books that might interest you

  • Only the Devil Is Here - cover

    Only the Devil Is Here

    Stephen Michell

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “A gripping, cinematic supernatural thriller, shot through with unsettling imagery and startling insights into the nature of good and evil.” —David Demchuk, Sunburst Award–winning author of The Bone Mother   Kidnapped from his foster home, six-year-old Evan desperately searches for a way to escape his brutally violent captor, Rook. Armed with supernatural abilities, Rook is no ordinary man, but then Evan is no ordinary boy. And it soon becomes clear that on their frantic journey through a world teeming with unimaginable horrors and unnatural predators, Rook is Evan’s only hope for survival . . .   “With Only the Devil Is Here, Stephen Michell announces himself as a new and powerful presence on the literary horror scene. This is curt, violent, poetic storytelling, a Cormac McCarthyesque journey from darkness into even deeper darkness, suffused from moment one on with gothic nighttime awe and terror yet also shot through with the slimmest threads of hope—intimations of numinosity, if not of salvation.” —Gemma Files, Shirley Jackson Award–winning author of Spectral Evidence   “Michell subtly upends expectations with a genuinely insightful examination of the essence of good and evil. By the novel’s end, Michell delivers an invigorating chase story, a suspenseful horror-action hybrid with memorably warped characters, and terrific B-movie cinematic flair.” —Publishers Weekly   “How Rook acquired his superhuman strength and came to accept his unholy mission are just two of the many revelations Michell has in store for readers. Better still is the poignant father-son relationship that slowly builds between Rook and the orphaned Evan, who is also gifted with supernatural powers. A very promising debut from a new author to watch.” —Toronto Star
    Show book
  • Legion of the Occult - A thrilling action-packed fantasy escape - cover

    Legion of the Occult - A...

    Roberto Genovesi

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Unstoppable and lethal, they move across the battlefields like ghosts. They are the soldiers of the Legio Occulta. 
     
    Nola, Roman Italy, 19 August 14 A.D. 
     
    History does not acknowledge them, but the Roman Empire knows the debt they owe to this secret legion. Trained not to fight but to read and interpret the messages of the gods, they pave the way for Roman swords, intervening when earthly weapons must give way to the power of the transcendent. With the Legio Occulta, no battle is impossible. 
     
    Clad in snow-white armour and tunics as black as night, they are seers, fortune-tellers, necromancers and haruspies selected when they were children from arenas, slave markets and burning villages. Led by a general who speaks only in sign language, their motto is Vigiles in tenebris: watchers of the night. 
     
    Iron blades clash with magic. Rome will never be the same. 
     
    Praise for Roberto Genovesi: 
     
    'Roberto Genovesi is the Italian master of historical fantasy' ANDREA FREDIANI. 
     
    'A very original, wide-ranging novel full of characters, full of descriptions and narrative inventions' IL GIORNALE. 
     
    'A compelling historical novel with splashes of fantasy' IL SOLE 24 ORE.
    Show book
  • Protect the Prince - cover

    Protect the Prince

    Jennifer Estep

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    USA TODAY Bestseller!  
    Magic, murder, adventure, and romance combine in this second novel in the exciting Crown of Shards saga from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Estep. 
    Everleigh Blair might be the new gladiator queen of Bellona, but her problems are far from over. 
    First, Evie has to deal with a court full of arrogant, demanding nobles, all of whom want to get their greedy hands on her crown. As if that wasn’t bad enough, an assassin tries to kill Evie in her own throne room. 
    Despite the dangers, Evie goes ahead with a scheduled trip to the neighboring kingdom of Andvari in order to secure a desperately needed alliance. But complicating matters is the stubborn Andvarian king, who wants to punish Evie for the deaths of his countrymen during the Seven Spire massacre. 
    Dark forces are also at work inside the Andvarian palace, and Evie soon realizes that no one is safe. Worse, her immunity to magic starts acting in strange, unexpected ways, which makes Evie wonder whether she is truly strong enough to be a Winter Queen. 
    Evie’s magic, life, and crown aren’t the only things in danger—so is her heart, thanks to Lucas Sullivan, the Andvarian king’s bastard son and Evie’s … well, Evie isn’t quite sure what Sullivan is to her. 
    Only one thing is certain—protecting a prince might be even harder than killing a queen…
    Show book
  • Vampires of Portlandia - cover

    Vampires of Portlandia

    Jason Tanamor

    • 2
    • 13
    • 1
    When Marcella Leones relocates her family of aswang vampires from the Philippines to Portland, Oregon, she raises her grandchildren under strict rules so humans will not expose them. Her only wish is to give them a peaceful life, far away from the hunters and the Filipino government that attempted to exterminate them.
    
    Before she dies, she passes on the power to her eldest grandchild, Percival. He vows to uphold the rules set forth by Leones, allowing his family to roam freely without notice. After all, they are aswangs.
    
    However, when the aswang covenant is broken, the murder rate in Portland rises drastically. Who is behind the murders? And who is behind the broken covenant? Along with sensie Penelope Jane, Percival must find the truth.
    
    It's then they discover that there are other breeds of aswangs—werebeasts, witches, ghouls, and viscera—who have been residing in Portland for years.
    
    Based on Filipino folklore (aswang), “Vampires of Portlandia” is a fantastical tale of different monsters coexisting in the weirdest city in America.
    Show book
  • Hunted By The Wolves - A Paranormal Romance - cover

    Hunted By The Wolves - A...

    Susan G. Charles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A vampire, set in his ways, is jolted out of his routine by the discovery of a mysterious new woman. Who is she? And even more importantly, why is he so attracted to her even though she is rude to him at best?
     
    For Hunter, life as he knows it has been forever changed. In two shorts months, he went from contented bachelor to the "boyfriend" of a mysterious woman who has knocked him off his feet. Now Hunter must learn to control his feelings and be with her, all the while falling deeper in love.
     
    Soon he realizes that to understand her fully, he must pull out all the stops. Then he learns a truth he was not expecting... she is a werewolf with incredible powers of her own. Along the way, alliances are tested and new enemies rise to hunt the couple. And when tragedy strikes, Hunter must make the ultimate choice... and face an evil far greater than anything he'd ever read about in his beloved books.
     
    This werewolf and vampire romance contains some violence and shapeshifter action with many thrilling situations. Recommended for ages sixteen and up.
    Show book
  • Ayesha - The Return of She - cover

    Ayesha - The Return of She

    H. Rider Haggard

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the author of the long-running Allan Quatermain series: The sequel to She is a fantasy classic and one of the bestselling books of all time.   In the sequel to She, Horace Holly and his ward, Leo Vincey, embark on a quest through Tibet to find the mysterious woman known as Ayesha. Though an abbot warns them not to continue, Horace and Leo press on to discover the ancient city of Kaloon, ruled by the evil Khan Rassen and his imperious wife, Khania Atene, whose desire for Leo sparks a rivalry with the volcano-dwelling Priestess of Hes . . .
    Show book