Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Damaged Goods - cover

Damaged Goods

Debbi Mack

Publisher: Renegade Press

  • 2
  • 14
  • 0

Summary

A Marine veteran may have survived combat, but can she survive this case?
 
Unlicensed private eye Erica Jensen works as a “researcher” who performs background checks, conducts surveillance, and takes on other dubious assignments while battling post-traumatic stress and an opioid addiction. When a wealthy man hires her to find his missing daughter, Erica ends up with more work than she bargained for: a murder victim and unwanted attention from the killers.
 
While seeking the daughter, Erica uncovers evidence that raises questions about the dead man. Did the missing daughter know him? Did the victim have ties to an artifacts smuggling ring? Erica’s search for answers puts her in the crosshairs of people who kill to keep secrets.
 
PRAISE FOR THE BOOK
 
“Debbi Mack’s novella, Damaged Goods, is a fulfilling and exciting read and proof that the novella is alive and well. Highly recommended.”— David Swinson, author of The Second Girl and Trigger
 
"Pitch perfect pace and plot with a well-drawn protagonist."— M. Ruth Myers, Shamus Award winning author of the Maggie Sullivan mystery series
 
“Marine veteran turned unlicensed PI Erica Jensen is a flawed and intriguing heroine in this meticulous mystery. Charlie Fox would work alongside her any day!” — Zoë Sharp, author of Bad Turn
 
"A gritty, stunning portrayal of the impact and response to post-traumatic stress, packaged inside a compelling mystery."— Frank Zafiro, author of the Charlie-316 series
 
"Mack keeps the action rolling along while fleshing out a keeper of a protagonist. Excellent read for neo-noir and private eye fans!"— W.D. Gagliani, author of The Judas Hit and the Nick Lupo Series

Other books that might interest you

  • Know Your Own Darkness - cover

    Know Your Own Darkness

    Howard Robinson

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    It’s been thirty years since they witnessed the accidental drowning of their friend.
     
    Those who were present – now parents themselves – have begun to receive messages claiming to be from the boy who died.
     
    The troubling notes become more alarming when a child disappears.
     
    Time is running out for Detective Inspector Jack Munday as he balances the sensitive case alongside personal problems and a demanding new superior officer.
     
    In the maelstrom of head-versus-heart, one thing is certain; whoever is sending the messages wants revenge.
    Show book
  • Sycamore - cover

    Sycamore

    Bryn Chancellor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "In this masterful performance, Bryn Chancellor explores the loss around which an entire community has calcified with humanity and wisdom. Chancellor digs deep in these pages, unearthing broken hearts, secrets, betrayals, passion and—most impressively—grace. What a joy to find a book that is both propulsive and perfectly composed."—Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest 
    An award-winning writer makes her debut with this mesmerizing page-turner in the spirit of Everything I Never Told You and Olive Kitteridge. 
    Out for a hike one scorching afternoon in Sycamore, Arizona, a newcomer to town stumbles across what appear to be human remains embedded in the wall of a dry desert ravine. As news of the discovery makes its way around town, Sycamore’s longtime residents fear the bones may belong to Jess Winters, the teenage girl who disappeared suddenly some eighteen years earlier, an unsolved mystery that has soaked into the porous rock of the town and haunted it ever since. In the days it takes the authorities to make an identification, the residents rekindle stories, rumors, and recollections both painful and poignant as they revisit Jess’s troubled history. In resurrecting the past, the people of Sycamore will find clarity, unexpected possibility, and a way forward for their lives. 
    Skillfully interweaving multiple points of view, Bryn Chancellor knowingly maps the bloodlines of a community and the indelible characters at its heart—most notably Jess Winters, a thoughtful, promising adolescent poised on the threshold of adulthood. Evocative and atmospheric, Sycamore is a coming-of-age story, a mystery, and a moving exploration of the elemental forces that drive human nature—desire, loneliness, grief, love, forgiveness, and hope—as witnessed through the inhabitants of one small Arizona town. 
    Show book
  • State of Fear - cover

    State of Fear

    Michael Crichton

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Michael Crichton delivers another action-packed techo-thriller in State of Fear.When a group of eco-terrorists engage in a global conspiracy to generate weather-related natural disasters, its up to environmental lawyer Peter Evans and his team to uncover the subterfuge. From Tokyo to Los Angeles, from Antarctica to the Solomon Islands, Michael Crichton mixes cutting edge science and action-packed adventure, leading readers on an edge-of-your-seat ride while offering up a thought-provoking commentary on the issue of global warming. A deftly-crafted novel, in true Crichton style, State of Fear is an exciting, stunning tale that not only entertains and educates, but will make you think.
    Show book
  • Kill Sleep Repeat - A Psychological Thriller - cover

    Kill Sleep Repeat - A...

    Britney King

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    From the bestselling author of The Social Affair and HER comes an intense and deadly provocative thriller which follows a woman who, in a fight for survival, realizes her job may cost more than it pays.
     
    Several times a week, Charlotte Jones leaves suburbia behind and boards a chartered flight to parts unknown, where she wraps her hands around the necks of marks for just as long as she has to.
     
    Then she goes back to domestic life with a paycheck, defense wounds, and the sense that she can handle anything.
     
    Which is good, because being a wife, mother, and sociopath, with an insatiable taste for murder, gives the term work-life balance new meaning. When one life unexpectedly bleeds into the other, leading to a secret admirer and borderline insta-fame, Charlotte is forced to ask herself if she really can have it all.
     
    Slick and unsettling, Kill, Sleep, Repeat is a cunning tale of deception and desire that begs the question: Do we ever really know people the way we think we do?
    Show book
  • Blood Lance - cover

    Blood Lance

    Jeri Westerson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A medieval knight turned private investigator is joined by Geoffrey Chaucer in his latest case featuring “clever twists and convincing period detail” (Publishers Weekly). 
     
    Private investigator and former knight Crispin Guest faces his most complicated case yet when he witnesses a body fall from London bridge into the frigid River Thames. Though the man’s death is declared a suicide, Guest sees evidence of foul play. His investigation leads him to Sir Thomas Saunfayl, an old acquaintance from his knighthood days. It seems the dead man was bargaining with Sir Thomas for the Spear of Longinus, the weapon used to pierce the side of Christ on the Cross, which grants invincibility to its owner.  
     
    After his friend Geoffrey Chaucer arrives in London, all too eager to help find the spear, Guest finds himself trying to solve a conundrum of many parts, all centered around the same dangerous and coveted relic. With evocative period detail and an unforgettable cast of characters, Blood Lance was a Kirkus Reviews “Top 10 Hot Crime Novels” of Fall 2012. 
     
    “A lively tale of historical interest smoothly combined with a worthy mystery.” ?Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 3
    • 35
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book