Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Friend - A Novel from North Korea - cover

Friend - A Novel from North Korea

Nam-nyong Paek

Translator Immanuel Kim

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 1
  • 14
  • 1

Summary

Paek Nam-nyong’s Friend is a tale of marital intrigue, abuse, and divorce in North Korea. A woman in her thirties comes to a courthouse petitioning for a divorce. As the judge who hears her statement begins to investigate the case, the story unfolds into a broader consideration of love and marriage. The novel delves into its protagonists’ past, describing how the couple first fell in love and then how their marriage deteriorated over the years. It chronicles the toll their acrimony takes on their son and their careers alongside the story of the judge’s own marital troubles.A best-seller in North Korea, where Paek continues to live and write, Friend illuminates a side of life in the DPRK that Western readers have never before encountered. Far from being a propagandistic screed in praise of the Great Leader, Friend describes the lives of people who struggle with everyday problems such as marital woes and workplace conflicts. Instead of socialist-realist stock figures, Paek depicts complex characters who wrestle with universal questions of individual identity, the split between public and private selves, the unpredictability of existence, and the never-ending labor of maintaining a relationship. This groundbreaking translation of one of North Korea’s most popular writers offers English-language readers a page-turner full of psychological tension as well as a revealing portrait of a society that is typically seen as closed to the outside world.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Boys Will Be Boys - cover

    Boys Will Be Boys

    Clementine Ford

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Fearless feminist Clementine Ford’s incendiary first book, Fight Like A Girl, is taking the world by storm, galvanizing women to demand and fight for real equality and not merely the illusion of it.  Now Boys Will Be Boys examines what needs to change for that equality to become a reality. It answers the question most asked of Clementine: "How do I raise my son to respect women and give them equal space in the world? How do I make sure he's a supporter and not a perpetrator?"  Ford demolishes the age-old assumption that superiority and aggression are natural realms for boys, and demonstrates how toxic masculinity creates a disturbingly limited and potentially dangerous idea of what it is to be a man. Crucially, Boys Will Be Boys reveals how the patriarchy we live in is as harmful to boys and men as it is to women and girls, and asks what we have to do to reverse that damage. The world needs to — this book shows the way.
    Show book
  • Toxic Love - The Shocking True Story of the First Murder by Cancer - cover

    Toxic Love - The Shocking True...

    Tomás Guillén

    • 0
    • 18
    • 2
    The chilling true story of romantic obsession and murder by cancer from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Search for the Green River Killer.Omaha, Nebraska, 1978. Sandy Johnson was in shock. Her husband, Duane, and young daughter, Sherrie, were violently ill when word arrived that her infant nephew just died of mysterious causes. Days earlier, the entire family was happy, healthy, and living the American dream. Now they were at the center of a terrifying medical crisis.   Duane soon died in a condition unlike anything the doctors had ever seen. As they raced to discover what disease or toxin could have done so much damage so quickly, Lt. Foster Burchard of the Omaha police began to suspect foul play. Sandy herself became a primary suspect, as did her ex-boyfriend Steven Harper—a man prone to violence who never got over their breakup.   In Toxic Love, investigative reporter and true crime author Tomás Guillén offers a detailed and vivid account of this baffling case from the day of the poisoning to the harrowing trial and the murderer’s eventual suicide on death row.  
    Show book
  • The 12Th Plague: Religion - A Short History and Exposé of Religion’S Millennia-Long Strangle Hold on Society with All Its Schemes Controls and Corruption Revealed - cover

    The 12Th Plague: Religion - A...

    Peter Hendersen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author exposes Religion as a form of Mafia that controls people through fear, by promising protection from Gods wrath.
    The title refers to the ten Plagues of Moses and the Black Plague and considers Religion the current Plague that must be cured. 
    The author offers a unique look at religious beliefs, massacres and wars, the fear tactics, ruthless methods and brainwashing techniques that religious leaders use to promote their fantasies and control people psychologically and financially.
    In a no-holds-barred manner, he exposes the corruption of this immense business that is religion, and documents the conflicts between religions and their century-long battles for supremacy. 
    This book describes all Councils of the Catholic Church, all of the 265 Popes and 37 Antipopes, the activities and depravity of many of them and the schism in the Catholic Church in the 14th and 15th centuries, when there were three Popes at the same time. It teaches the insanity of the Crusades, the horrors of the Inquisition, the in-fighting between popes and the appointment and deposition of popes by kings, governments and cardinals.
    It describes the origins of the Bible and Koran, discusses gods, the soul, beliefs, the heresy that is religion, the futility of praying, the poverty resulting from religions exploitation of the poor, religious terrorists, Islam, Jews, cloning, honour killing, blasphemy, out-of-body experience, aliens, gay marriages, Noahs deluge and many other interesting topics.
    This courageous work uses sound philosophical arguments, describing openly how the Church, in forbidding abortions and contraceptives, is causing deaths from illegal abortions, deaths by AIDS, and unwanted children who die of hunger at the rate of over 29,000 per day. It shows Religions clash with Civil Law and its control of politics by supporting religious politicians. 
    The author suggests a bold plan to rid the world of Religion.
    Show book
  • 30 Humorous Masterpieces you have to read before you die (Golden Deer Classics) - cover

    30 Humorous Masterpieces you...

    Lewis Carroll, Jane Austen,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book,contains now several HTML tables of contents
    The first table of contents lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC.
    
    This book contains the following works arranged alphabetically by authors last names
    
    Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions [Edwin Abbott Abbott]
    Lady Susan [Jane Austen]
    R. Holmes & Co. [John Kendrick Bangs]
    Mrs. Raffles [John Kendrick Bangs]
    The Triumphs of Eugène Valmont [Robert Barr]
    Love Insurance [Earl Derr Biggers]
    The Mirror of Kong Ho [Ernest Bramah Smith]
    The Ghost-Extinguisher [Frank Gelett Burgess]
    Erewhon, or Over The Range [Samuel Butler]
    Jurgen: A Comedy of Justice [James Branch Cabell]
    Sylvie and Bruno [Lewis Carroll]
    The Napoleon of Notting Hill [Gilbert Keith Chesterton]
    The Strange Adventures of Mr. Middleton [Wardon Allan Curtis]
    Our Mutual Friend [Charles Dickens]
    Brother Jacob [George Eliot]
    Cheerful—By Request [Edna Ferber]
    Cabbages and Kings [O. Henry]
    Crome Yellow [Aldous Huxley]
    All Roads Lead to Calvary [Jerome Klapka Jerome]
    Babbitt [Sinclair Lewis]
    Parnassus On Wheels [Christopher Morley]
    Beasts and Super-Beasts [Saki]
    A Tale of Negative Gravity [Frank R. Stockton]
    Gulliver's Travels [Jonathan Swift]
    Botchan [Natsume Sōseki]
    A Voyage to the Moon [George Tucker]
    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn [Mark Twain]
    The Wheels of Chance [H. G. Wells]
    The Canterville Ghost [Oscar Wilde]
    My Man Jeeves [P. G. Wodehouse]
    Show book