Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Sons of Rome - cover

Sons of Rome

Simon Turney, Gordon Doherty

Publisher: Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

'A page turner from beginning to end ... A damn fine read' Ben Kane. 
 
Four Emperors. Two Friends. One Destiny. 
 
As twilight descends on the 3rd century AD, the Roman Empire is but a shadow of its former self. Decades of usurping emperors, splinter kingdoms and savage wars have left the people beleaguered, the armies weary and the future uncertain. And into this chaos Emperor Diocletian steps, reforming the succession to allow for not one emperor to rule the world, but four. 
 
Meanwhile, two boys share a chance meeting in the great city of Treverorum as Diocletian's dream is announced to the imperial court. Throughout the years that follow, they share heartbreak and glory as that dream sours and the empire endures an era of tyranny and dread. Their lives are inextricably linked, their destinies ever-converging as they rise through Rome's savage stations, to the zenith of empire. For Constantine and Maxentius, the purple robes beckon...

Other books that might interest you

  • Copy Boy - A Novel - cover

    Copy Boy - A Novel

    Shelley Blanton-Stroud

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    “This is Raymond Chandler for feminists.” ―Sharma Shields, author of The Cassandra“An expressive and striking story that examines what one does for family and for oneself.” ―Kirkus ReviewsJane’s a very brave boy. And a very difficult girl. She’ll become a remarkable woman, an icon of her century, but that’s a long way off. Not my fault, she thinks, dropping a bloody crowbar in the irrigation ditch after Daddy. She steals Momma’s Ford and escapes to Depression-era San Francisco, where she fakes her way into work as a newspaper copy boy. Everything’s looking up. She’s climbing the ladder at the paper, winning validation, skill, and connections with the artists and thinkers of her day. But then Daddy reappears on the paper’s front page, his arm around a girl who’s just been beaten into a coma one block from Jane’s newspaper―hit in the head with a crowbar. Jane’s got to find Daddy before he finds her, and before everyone else finds her out. She’s got to protect her invented identity. This is what she thinks she wants. It’s definitely what her dead brother wants.
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • What She Knew - A Novel - cover

    What She Knew - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In her enthralling debut, Gilly Macmillan explores a mother’s search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One. 
    In a heartbeat, everything changes… 
    Rachel Jenner is walking in a Bristol park with her eight-year-old son, Ben, when he asks if he can run ahead. It’s an ordinary request on an ordinary Sunday afternoon, and Rachel has no reason to worry—until Ben vanishes.   
    Police are called, search parties go out, and Rachel, already insecure after her recent divorce, feels herself coming undone. As hours and then days pass without a sign of Ben, everyone who knew him is called into question, from Rachel’s newly married ex-husband to her mother-of-the-year sister. Inevitably, media attention focuses on Rachel too, and the public’s attitude toward her begins to shift from sympathy to suspicion. 
    As she desperately pieces together the threadbare clues, Rachel realizes that nothing is quite as she imagined it to be, not even her own judgment. And the greatest dangers may lie not in the anonymous strangers of every parent’s nightmares, but behind the familiar smiles of those she trusts the most. 
    Where is Ben? The clock is ticking...
    Show book
  • A Cold White Fear - A Meg Harris Mystery - cover

    A Cold White Fear - A Meg Harris...

    R.J. Harlick

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Stranded by a blizzard at her isolated cabin, Meg Harris, an escapee from a failed marriage into the remote wilderness, finds herself in a desperate and terrifying situation when two strangers arrive. 
     
    
    
    As night approaches, a major blizzard has cut off road access to Meg Harris’s isolated wilderness home, Three Deer Point. She is alone with her young friend Adjidamo, preparing for Christmas, when a knock suddenly echoes through the house. She finds two strange men at her front door, one of them bleeding. Against her better judgment, she lets them in. At that moment, the power goes out, plunging the group into total darkness and severing all phone links to the outside world. So begin a terrifying twenty-four hours that have Meg summoning up a courage she didn’t know she had to get herself and Adjidamo out alive.
    Show book
  • All Out War - A Novel - cover

    All Out War - A Novel

    Sean Parnell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Eric Steele and author Sean Parnell are the real deal.”— Lee Child 
    Special operative Eric Steele, introduced in Man of War, is on the hunt for a formidable Russian terrorist in this high-intensity tale of international intrigue from the author of the New York Times bestselling memoir Outlaw Platoon. 
    Badly injured while stopping a rogue agent from obtaining weapons of mass destruction, elite warrior Eric Steele is drawn back into service before he’s ready when unknown assailants break into his home near Pittsburgh, injuring his mother and stealing his father’s pistol. 
    An Alpha—an elite soldier under the direct command of the president of the United States—Steele is hell-bent on finding the attackers and bringing them to justice. While tracking his foe, Steele discovers he’s become entangled in a far more sinister plan that’s already been set in motion.  
    A terrorist named Zakayev, once locked away in a maximum-security prison in Russia, has escaped and joined forces with Hassan Sitta, a man who’s shown his prowess and ingenuity with a spectacular bomb planted somewhere in the Middle East that hasn’t been ignited—and no one can find. But that is only the beginning of a horrifying plan that, if it succeeds, will shatter international alliances and bring the world to the brink of war.  
    Now, the hunted must turn the tables on the hunter—Steele must find a way to stay alive and stop Zakayev before innocent lives are lost.
    Show book
  • Demise - A Novel of Race Culture Wars and Falling Darkness - cover

    Demise - A Novel of Race Culture...

    John M. Del Vecchio

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    AUTHOR'S PREFERRED EDITION
     
    This is the story of two young men, one white, one black, who grew up in the 1960s, who were best friends—their high school’s Salt ‘n’ Pepper running backs. One went to Vietnam, the other avoided the draft.
     
    Their worlds begin to disintegrate when a freak accident disrupts the peaceful Connecticut town where they have settled. As 50-year-old corporate executives, one loathes his job and finds himself increasingly estranged from his family and community. Events force them closer together, yet careers, families, and tragedies which revolve about decisions made three decades earlier tear them apart.
     
    Del Vecchio has created a beautiful, penetrating novel of men struggling with their demons, a town struggling with tragedy, and families struggling to stay together.
     
    “...a stunning and insightful masterpiece, as timely as tomorrow’s news.” —Al Santoli, author of Everything We Had
    Show book